Login: Password: Remember me?

USA Rugby Names Referee Panels

Wednesday Aug 12, 2009 in Off the Field Laws

image for this article

Boulder, Colo. – The USA Rugby Referee and Laws Selection Committee is proud to announce the 2009-2010 National Panel and National Focus Group appointments.

Of interest in this piece of news is the fact that Chris Draper, who was the USA’s highest-profile referee, officiating IRB 7s tournaments and Nations Cup test matches, has resigned from USA Rugby.

Draper, a refereeing columnist for ERugbyNews, told ERugbyNews he will forward a formal letter of resignation shortly. He confirmed he has resigned from all refereeing, and will be looking at coaching opportunities.

Aruna Ranaweera is promoted to the National Panel and joins Davey Ardrey, Paul Bretz, Ed Gardner, Chris Henshall, Tim Luscombe, Tom Lyons and Dana Teagarden.

Simon Page  now moves to the Directors Panel.

“Our gratitude goes out to both Chris and Simon for all they have done for USA Rugby. We know the time, effort and sacrifice it takes to referee at this level, and we wish them well in their future endeavors,” said USA Rugby Referees National Panel Manager Richard Every.

Joe Androvich and Marc Nelson are promoted to the Referees Focus Group for the 2009-2010 season and join returning members Gareth Morgan and Nick Ricono. Group members from the 2008-2009 season, Judah Boulet and Mitch Damm now return to their respective territorial panels, while Paul Bethe is currently injured and will be reviewed for reinstatement to the Focus Group upon his return to refereeing.

Simon Page, Phil Griffiths and Pete Smith move to the Directors Panel, among the likes of 2008-2009 appointees Graeme Bullen, Tom Coburn, Brad Kleiner, Jem McDowell, Richard Parker, Dave Peters and Mark Zetterberg. The National Directors Panel was created for the 2008-2009 season to allow match officials who have reached the highest level of their craft in the U.S. to continue to contribute on the field.

“Congratulations to the 2009-2010 referee panels and to all of their respective Local Area Unions and Territories. Thanks to their continued support, USA Rugby Referees are providing a steadily improving service to the game,” said USA Rugby Director of Referee Development Ed Todd.

USA Rugby Referees National Panel
Davey Ardrey ( Great Plains , West)
Paul Bretz ( Northern California , Pacific)
Ed Gardner (South)
Chris Henshall (EPRU, MARFU)
Tim Luscombe ( Eastern Rockies , West)
Tom Lyons ( Potomac , MARFU)
*Aruna Ranaweera ( Northern California , Pacific)
Dana Teagarden ( Southern California )

USA Rugby Referees Focus Group
Joe Androvich ( Northern California , Pacific)
Gareth Morgan (Southeast, South)
*Marc Nelson ( Eastern Rockies , West)
Nick Ricono ( Southern California )


USA Rugby Referees Directors Panel
Graeme Bullen ( Texas , West)
Tom Coburn ( Eastern Rockies , West)
*Phil Griffiths ( New England , Northeast)
Brad Kleiner (Met NY, Northeast)
Jem McDowell (Met NY, Northeast)
*Simon Page ( Florida , South)
Richard Parker ( New England , Northeast)
Dave Peters ( Southern California )
*Pete Smith ( Northern California , Pacific)
Mark Zetterberg ( Pacific Northwest , Northwest)

*denotes new appointee for 2009-2010


Goff on Rugby | More articles in “Laws” | More articles in “Off the Field”