Login: Password: Remember me?

Vancouver Wave Win Canadian Juniors

Sunday Aug 2, 2009 in Canada Age Grade - Boys

image for this article

The Vancouver Wave swept aside a raging Rebellion on Saturday to come back 41-21 in the 2009 Rugby Canada National Junior Championship Final.

The home side was trailing 18-8 at the half but managed a 41-21 reverse by the final whistle at Klahanie Park in Vancouver.

Toronto came out in full force as Matt Alexander and Rory Tomlinson each touched down in the opening minutes. Steve Fievet kicked two penalties and a conversion for their 18-8 half time lead.

As the heat took its toll on the young squads, the Rebellion were unable to carry their momentum as they emerged from the dressing room. Fievet would kick one penalty, Toronto’s only second half points before Vancouver unleashed a series of try scoring runs to take the 41-21 victory.

In a momentum shifting substitution Vancouver Wave and Canadian U20 Captain Harry Jones moved in at standoff as Toronto’s fly half Rory Tomlinson went down injured.

Wave after wave Vancouver came at the Rebellion as Chris Barrett, Mike MacDonald, Lewis Hart, and Jeff McKinnon would each touch down for tries while Vancouver’s Man-of-the Match lock Admir Cejvanovic went over twice. Jones completed four solid conversions at days end and applauded his team’s efforts at regrouping and finding their composure at the half.

“Nothing feels better than a comeback win, it feels great right now,” Jones said after the match. 

Despite dominating much of the opening half, Toronto Captain Mike Zsolt said his team had nothing to be ashamed of as they watched the championship slip from their grasp.

“Vancouver is a great side with a number of Canada U20 players,” Zsolt said before adding, “But our players really matched them in the game, it just came down to a matter of mistakes.”

Toronto’s pack held their own in the set pieces as Vancouver failed to establish a presence in the first half break downs. Knock-ons were in abundance amongst the back line and it took an earful from Vancouver Wave Coach Pat Fleck to get his players back in their groove.

“He told us to cut out the knock-ons and stupid penalties and we came out stronger in the second half,” Jones said of the final reverse.

After watching the Niagara Thunder take a 20-19 Championship decision from them in the 2008 Final, it was a day of retribution for a number of the Vancouver Wave players as they raised the cup as National Junior Champions.

Toronto Rebellion:
1.  Jason Locke  (Ajax Wanderers)
2. Matthew Wolfe (Toronto Scottish)
3. Nicholas Johnson (Toronto Scottish)
4. Ty Riddick (Ajax Wanderers)
5. Michael Zsolt (Aurora Barbarians)
6. Charles Zikalala (Brampton)
7. Steve Fievet (Barrie)
8. Gord Kehoe (Barrie)
9. Kyle Armstrong (Ajax Wanderers)
10. Rory Tomlinson (Barrie)
11. Daniel Moor (Balmy Beach)
12. Sam Roberts (Oshawa Vikings)
13. Jordan Wilson-Ross (Barrie)
14. Adrian Macijiwsky (Toronto Scottish)
15. Matt Alexander (Oshawa Vikings)
16. Daniel Manchisi (Georgian Bay Titans) for Nicholas Johnson at 73 mins
17. Steve Pitelli (Toronto Scottish) for Matthew Wolfe at 55 mins
18. Kyle O’Neill (Ajax Wanderers) for Rory Tomlinson at 68 mins
19. Brian LeNguyen (Toronto Scottish) for Charles Zikalala at 58 mins
20. Colin Greenwood (Toronto Scottish) for Adrian Macijiwsky at 41 mins
21. Sean Tate (Barry RFC) for for Ty Riddick at 61 mins
22.Lawson Curtis (Toronto Scottish) for Kyle O’Neill at 52 mins

Vancouver Wave:
1. Evan Mallory (Burnaby Lake)

2. Lewis Hart (Burnaby Lake)
3. Jamal Allen (UVic)
4. Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake)
5. Gareth Dyer (Capilano)
6.  Doug Breadon (Burnaby Lake)
7. Liam Murray (UVIC)
8. Mike MacDonald (Capilano)
9.  Matt Yanigiya (Capilano)
10. Bryan Tyrer (Richmond/UVIC)
11. Dan Dibadj (UBC)
12. Taylor Dalziel (UBC)
13. Harry Jones (UBC/Capilano)
14. Sean Ferguson (UBC)
15. Chris Barrett (Queens)Reserves:
16. Alex Sunell (McGill) for Jamal Allen at 40 mins
17. Jeff McKinnon (Capilano) for Gareth Dyer at 68 mins
18. Alex Kam (UBC) for Liam Murray at 57 mins
19. Thomas Brodie (UVIC/Capilano) for Chris Barrett at 41 mins
20. Paul Murphy (Burnaby Lake) for Matt Yanigiya at 80 mins
21. Connor Trainor (Western University) for Bryan Tyrer at 40 mins
22. (Jersey #23) Brendan Fairs (Burnaby Lake) at Dan Dibadj at 80 mins

Goff on Rugby | More articles in “Age Grade - Boys” | More articles in “Canada”