Login: Password: Remember me?

Jaguars Beat Canada for Churchill Plate

Sunday Jun 21, 2009 in Canada National Team - Men

image for this article

Denver – Argentina won the Plate of the Churchill Cup with a 44-29 defeat of Canada at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

Center Benjamin Urdapilleta was once again man of the match, as he was perfect with his goalkicking, Urdapilleta was a perfect 5-5 on conversions and added three penalty kicks without a miss plus a try for 24 points.

The Jaguars shell-shocked the Canadians in the first 20 minutes.

While the Canadians pressured early off the kickoff and eventually earned a penalty kick, which James Pritchard duly slotted, the rest of the early going was all Argentina.

Right wing Francisco Jose Merello got the Jaguars going with a beautiful, swerving run that shamed several Canadian defenders. He sent the ball wide and finally hooker and captain Agustin Creevy on the opposite wing took the last pass to score.

Merello was the scorer next, getting a pass and once again sidestepping the defense and going over.

Then a high ball turned into a try for the Jaguars. Fullback Lucas Oro sent a massive kick that no one wanted to catch. Under pressure wing Sean Duke had to touch the ball down for a five-meter scrum.


From there it was only a matter of time and Urdapilleta scored. 21-3.

Canada finally replied. Good passing produced a gap for No. 8 Aaron Carpenter, who put on the gas, committed the final defender and fed wing Matt Evans in support for the try in the corner. 21-8 after 22 minutes.

Evans scored again for Canada to make it 21-15 and could have gone closer except Pritchard missed an easy penalty attempt.

In the second half it continued to be a game of streaky scoring. Argentina scored early in the half and then once more and before Urdapilleta slotted his first penalty to make it 38-15. The Jaguars took command of the game. Canada replied, though. A backline counterattack set free center DTH van der Merwe, who put on a running clinic of his own, handing off several defenders and scooting in at the corner and then around under the posts.

Moments later van der Merwe scored his second. Scrumhalf Phil Mack – van der Merwe’s captain on the Canada 7s team, took a quick tap, spotted a gap and then fed the center for a nice try. Eager to press their advantage Canada pushed the pace. They had a few opportunities, but Argentina, through the perfect kicking of Urdapilleta, put it away 44-29.

Canada 29 (15)
Tries: Evans 2, van der Merwe 2  
Convs: Pritchard, Monro, van der Merwe
Pens: Pritchard  

1 Frank Walsh (Vandals RFC/St. John's, NFLD)
2 Mike Pletch (Velox Valhallians/London,ON)
3 Dan Pletch (Niagara Thunder/London, ON)
4 Jebb Sinclair (Castaway Wanderers/Frederiction, NB)
5 Tyler Hotson (UBC Old Boy Ravens/Vancouver, BC)
6 Stan McKeen (Oxford University/Vancouver, BC)
7 Nanyak Dala (Castaway Wanderers/Saskatoon, SK)
8 Aaron Carpenter (capt, Brantford Harlequins/Coventry/Brantford, ON)
9 Ed Fairhurst (Cornish Pirates/Victoria, BC)
10 Ander Monro (Colorno, Italy)
11 Matt Evans (Hartpury College/Cowichan, BC)
12 Bryn Keys (Moseley RFC/Abbotsford, BC)
13 DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors/Regina, SK)
14 Sean Duke (University of Victoria/Vancouver, BC)
15 James Pritchard (Bedford Blues)
16 Pat Riordan (University of Victoria/Burnaby, BC)
17 Doug Wooldridge (Cowichan RFC/Lindsay, ON)
18 Stuart Ault (Moseley RFC/Perth, ON)
19 Chauncey O'Toole (Castaway Wanderers/Belleisle, NB)
20 Adam Kleeberger (University of Victoria/White Rock, BC)
21 Dean Van Camp (Velox Valhallians/Port Perry, ON)
22 Phil Mack (James Bay AA/Victoria, BC)

Argentina Jaguars 44 (21)
Tries: Creevy, Merello, Urdapilleta, De Vedia, Senatore
Pens: Urdapilleta 3  
Convs: Urdapilleta 5

1. Juan Figallo (Jockey Club)
2. Agustín Creevy (capt, San Luis)
3. Pedro Arocena Ledesma (Stade Francais)
4. Mariano Sambucetti (Bristol)
5. Carlos José Cáceres (Tucumán Lawn Tennis)
6. Alejandro Tomás Campos (Pueyrredón)
7. Leonardo Senatore (G.E.R.)
8. Tomás Leonardi (S.I.C.)
9. Martin Landajo (C.A.S.I.)
10. Ignacio Mieres (Perpignan)
11. Tomás De Vedia (London Irish)
12. Benjamín Urdapilleta (C.U.B.A.)
13. Matías Viazzo (Bourgoin)
14. Francisco José Merello (Regatas de Bella Vista)
15. Lucas Bernado Barrera Oro (Universitario)

16. Mauricio Rául Guidone (La Plata R.C.)
17. Juan Francisco Gomez (Leeds)
18. Tomás Roan (La Plata R.C.)
19. Agustín Guzman (Tucumán R.C.)
20. Francisco Cubelli (Belgrano Athletic)
21. Horacio Alberto San Martin (Tala R.C.)
22. Belisario Agulla (Hindu)


Goff on Rugby | More articles in “National Team - Men” | More articles in “Canada”