Login: Password: Remember me?

Canada Prepares for Ireland A

Monday Jun 8, 2009 in Canada National Team - Men

image for this article
(Several of these players already met in Vancouver May 23. Alex Goff photo.)

Glendale, Colo. - Canada coach Kieran Crowley has made three personnel and one positional change for the team that will face Ireland ‘A’ at the Churchill Cup in Glendale, Colo.

Canada opened the tournament with an emphatic 42-10 victory over Georgia – making it the first pool win of the seven year old Churchill Cup for Canada – and also a win in the first ever test against the former Soviet Republic.

Now they find themselves in position to challenge for a place in the Cup final if they beat Ireland A on Wednesday.

Crowley leaves the scrum untouched other than slotting in Dan Pletch at the loosehead spot after a slight leg injury to Kevin Tkachuk.

Phil Mack will start at scrumhalf, with Ed Fairhurst moving to the replacements bench, while Justin Mensah-Coker gets his first start since joining the team, taking a spot on the right wing.

James Pritchard, who had a sparkling kicking performance on the weekend at the fullback spot, replaces Sean Duke on the wing. Matt Evans, who impressed in a second half burst that saw him score a pair of tries, will take up Pritchard’s fullback role.

New into the replacements bench this coming Wednesday will be flanker Jebb Sinclair, who has been carrying a slight injury since playing against Ireland on May 23, and Newfoundland’s Frank Walsh will cover a front row spot.

Sean Duke will be cover for the wing while John Moonlight, who won his first cap against Georgia, will be a replacement for either Nanyak Dala or Adam Kleeberger after having a storming 20-minute run on Saturday. Doug Wooldridge will be the loosehead replacement for young Andrew Tiedemann.

The side named by Ireland will feature nine starters who played in Canada's loss to the Irish in Vancouver May 23.

Canada side to face Ireland 'A'
1. Dan Pletch (Niagara Thunder/London, ON)
2. Pat Riordan (capt, University of Victoria/Burnaby, BC)
3. Andrew Tiedemann (University of Victoria)
4. Tyler Hotson (UBC Old Boy Ravens/Vancouver, BC)
5. Mike Burak (Unattached/Vancouver, BC)
6. Nanyak Dala (Castaway Wanderers/Saskatoon, SK)
7. Adam Kleeberger (University of Victoria/White Rock, BC)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Brantford Harlequins/Coventry/Brantford, ON)
9. Phil Mack (James Bay AA/Victoria, BC)
10. Ander Monro (Colorno, Italy)
11. James Pritchard (Bedford Blues)
12. DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors/Regina, SK)
13. Ciaran Hearn (Castaway Wanderers/Conception Bay, Nfld)
14. Justin Mensah-Coker (Moseley RFC/Vancouver, BC)
15. Matt Evans (Hartpury College/Cowichan, BC)

16. Mike Pletch (Velox Valhallians/London,ON)
17. Frank Walsh (Dogs RFC/St. John’s, NFLD)
18. Doug Wooldridge (Cowichan RFC/Lindsay, ON)
19. Jebb Sinclair (Castaway Wanderers/Frederiction, NB)
20. John Moonlight (University of Victoria/Pickering, ON)
21. Ed Fairhurst (Cornish Pirates/Victoria, BC)
22. Sean Duke (University of Victoria/Vancouver, BC)

Goff on Rugby | More articles in “National Team - Men” | More articles in “Canada”