Login: Password: Remember me?

Canada Names Squad to Face Wales

Friday May 29, 2009 in Canada National Team - Men

image for this article

May 29, 2009 - Canadian Senior Men’s Coach Kieran Crowley has named the side that will play against Wales at York University this weekend in Toronto.

The roster features a number of changes from Saturday’s 25-6 loss to Ireland including University of Victoria prop Andrew Tiedemann moving into the front row to earn his first international cap.

The roster also sees Ander Monro, a substitute in last weekend’s match earn himself the start at fly half. After an impressive performance against the Irish, DTH van der Merwe has been moved off the wing into the outside centre position.

During the press conference on Thursday Canadian coach Kieran Crowley spoke of his side’s eagerness to take on the Welsh team.

“Our guys are looking forward to the challenge, they're committed guys who've trained hard and deserve their chance to play for Canada against Wales," Crowley said.

Saturday’s match will also see Luke Tait replacing Tyler Hotson in the second row as well as Sean Duke slotting in the back line.

After a strong 60 minutes of rugby last weekend, the Canadian side saw the match slip away from them as Ireland took the 25-6 win. During Thursday’s press conference, Canadian Captain Pat Riordan spoke of how last Saturday’s result will motivate the squad when they play Wales, a squad currently ranked 7th in the World Rankings.

"It's really nice for everyone to say it was a valiant effort and a great 60 minutes, but there wasn't a guy in that room that was happy about how that game ended," Riordan said. "We would rather play like garbage for 80 minutes and win the game than play good for 60 and lose it."

15  James Pritchard (Bedford Blues)
14  Ciaran Hearn (Castaway Wanderers/Conception Bay, NFLD)
13  DTH van der Merwe (James Bay AA/Regina, SK)
12  Ryan Smith (Calgary Irish/Caledon, ON)
11  Sean Duke (University of Victoria, Victoria, BC)
10  Ander Monro (Colorno, Italy)
9  Ed Fairhurst (Cornish Pirates/Victoria, BC)
8  Aaron Carpenter (Brantford Harelquins, Brantford, ON)
7  Adam Kleeberger (University of Victoria/White Rock, BC)
6  Jebb Sinclair (Castaway Wanderers/Fredericton, NB)
5  Luke Tait (Stade Montois - France/Barrie, ON)
4  Mike Burak (Cornish Pirates/Vancouver, BC)
3  Andrew Tiedemann (University of Victoria/St. Albert, AB)
2  Pat Riordan (C) (University of Victoria/Burnaby, BC)
1  Kevin Tkachuk (Glasgow Warriors/Regina, SK)

16  Mike Pletch (Velox Valhallians/Lucan, ON)
17  Doug Wooldridge (Cowichan RFC/Lindsay, ON)
18  Tyler Hotson (UBC Old Boy Ravens/Vancouver, BC)
19  Nanyak Dala (Castaway Wanderers/Saskatoon, SK)
20  Matt Evans (Hartpury College- UK/Cowichan, BC)
21  David Spicer (University of Victoria/Victoria, BC)
22  Phil Mack (James Bay AA/Victoria, BC)

Head Coach: Kieran Crowley
Assistant Coach: John Tait
Skills Coach: Morgan Williams
Strength and Conditioning Coach: Tyler Goodale
Scrum Coach: Kevin Wirachowski
Managers: Des Lynch, Rodger Swany
Video Analyst: Peter Huigenbos


Goff on Rugby | More articles in “National Team - Men” | More articles in “Canada”