Login: Password: Remember me?

Canada Names Lineup to Face Ireland

Thursday May 21, 2009 in Canada National Team - Men

image for this article

May 21, 2009 - Canadian Senior Men’s Coach Kieran Crowley has named his squad for Saturday’s Test Match against Ireland.

The roster features a number of experienced players that ventured on November’s fall tour. Receiving his first cap, however, will be Castaway Wanderer Chauncey O’Toole sliding in on the team’s flank.

Uncapped James Bay scrumhalf Phil Mack and University of Victoria prop Andrew Tiedemann have been named as substitutes for the match.

Coach Crowley spoke highly of the new faces in the lineup and how the young players have impressed the coaching staff during preparations for Saturday.

“Chauncey has played some outstanding rugby in the last five weeks. His performances in training have pushed him up there and he deserves a shot, it’s a reward for the all the hard work he’s put in,” Crowley said before speaking about Andrew Tiedemann’s recent form. “[Andrew] has come through the Under-20 program and played quite well this year. He can cover both sides of the scrum as a prop which is very important.”

Despite a disappointing loss against Ireland during the fall tour, Crowley says the team is confident heading into Saturday’s match.

“What happened in the past is history,” Crowley said. “It’s what is going to happen on Saturday now. So we’ve been concentrating on preparations for Saturday. It’s a case of getting our system back in place and getting our combination's together. “

The Irish side will feature a young squad with their backline averaging the age of 25. Munster scrum half Peter Stringer is the oldest veteran in the backs at 31.

15. James Pritchard (Bedford Blues) 
14. Dean van Camp (Velox Valhallians/Port Perry, ON)
13. Ciaran Hearn (Castaway Wanderers/Conception Bay, NFLD)
12. Ryan Smith (Calgary Irish/Caledon, ON)
11. DTH van der Merwe (James Bay AA/Regina, SK)
10. David Spicer (University of Victoria/Victoria, BC)
9. Ed Fairhurst (Cornish Pirates/Victoria, BC)
8. Aaron Carpenter (Brantford Harelquins, Brantford, ON)
7. Adam Kleeberger (University of Victoria/White Rock, BC)
6. Chauncey O'Toole (Castaway Wanderers/Belle Isle, NB)
5. Mike Burak (Cornish Pirates/Vancouver, BC)
4. Tyler Hotson (UBC Old Boy Ravens/Vancouver, BC)
3. Scott Franklin (Cornish Pirates/Regina, SK)
2. Pat Riordan (University of Victoria/Burnaby, BC)
1. Kevin Tkachuk (Glasgow Warriors/Regina, SK)
16. Andrew Tiedemann (University of Victoria/St. Albert, AB)
17. Luke Tait (Stade Montois - France/Barrie, ON)
18. Jebb Sinclair (Castaway Wanderers/Fredericton, NB)
19. Nanyak Dala (Castaway Wanderers/Saskatoon, SK)
20. Sean Michael Stephen (Plymouth Albion/Oakville, ON)
21. Phil Mack (James Bay AA/Victoria, BC)
22. Ander Monro (Colorno, Italy)
Coach: Kieran Crowley
Assistant Coach: John Tait
Scrum Coach: Kevin Wirachowski
Skills Coach: Morgan Williams
Strength and Conditioning Coach: Tyler Goodale
Managers: Des Lynch, Rodger Swany

15. Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
14. Barry Murphy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
12. Ian Whitten (Ballymena/Ulster)*
11. Ian Dowling (Shannon/Munster)*
10. Ian Keatley (Galwegians/Connacht)*
9. Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
8. Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
7. Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)*
6. John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)*
5. Mick O'Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
4. Bob Casey (London Irish)
3. Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt)
1. Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)

16. Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)*
17. Mike Ross (Harlequins)*
18. Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster)*
19. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
20. Eoin Reddan (London Wasps)
21. Niall O'Connor (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*
22. Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)*


Goff on Rugby | More articles in “National Team - Men” | More articles in “Canada”